Privacy & Cookies
29th November 2013, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London
Latest News :

2013 Hotelier of the Year Award

Sponsored by Casna Group

Caterer and Hotelkeeper’s Hotelier of the Year award celebrates the UK’s most exceptional hotelkeepers. Winning Hotelier of the Year represents the pinnacle of a career in hotel keeping. Now in its 29th year, the award is given to an individual displaying the management, leadership and communications skills required to manage a hotel at the highest levels of excellence, along with a commitment to employees and the industry at large.

Successful hoteliers are a rare breed. Not only are they multi-talented, but they also take on each and every task with enthusiasm and inspirational zeal, no matter how taxing the challenge. That's why previous winners of the Hotelier of the Year award are elite operators, able to turn their hand to any aspect of a hotel's smooth operation. They are men and women at the pinnacle of their profession, capable of managing the smooth and successful running of a hotel with a smile for guests and support for staff.

The 2013 Hotelier of the Year is likely to display many of the following skills and qualities:

Personal attributes

• Total commitment and dedication to the Hospitality Industry.
• Demonstrates fair and decisive leadership skills.
• Excellent communicator.
• Well respected in the Industry.
• Exemplary business track record.
• Innovative and creative.
• Strong attention to detail.
• Manages by example.

Hotelkeeping skills
• Runs well-maintained hotel that consistently surpasses its competitors.
• Consistency of delivery: ensures all guest stays exceed expectations.
• A personal touch with guests.
• Offers value for money.
• Develops and introduces new services to enhance customer experience.

Commitment to employees
• Focuses on developing employees’ careers and maximising potential.
• Willing to impart knowledge to employees.
• Organises staff surveys and acts on them.
• Empathic and approachable.

Commitment to industry
• Supports government initiatives to promote hospitality as career of choice and
raise standards of training.
• Engages with local community to promote industry.
• Supports hospitality organisations and events both personally and with his/her
hotel/business resources.

Social responsibility
• Contributes personally, and with hotel resources, to help charitable initiatives;
involves staff in charitable/community events.
• Has well communicated and effective environment policy

Do you know of a hotelier that embodies many of the above qualities? If so then email their details with a supporting statement  to by Tuesday 13th August.


Our 2012 Winner - Stuart Johnson, Brown's Hotel London, pictured with Nick Appell from sponsor Casna Group and Mark Lewis, Editor, Caterer and Hotelkeeper

Hotelier of the Year Past Winners

• 2012 Winner Stuart Johnson, Brown's Hotel London

2011 Winner Stephen Carter, De Vere Cameron House Hotel
• 2010 Winner Andrew Stembridge, Chewton Glen Hotel
• 2009 Jonathan Raggett, Managing Director, Red Carnation Hotels
• 2008 Andrew McKenzie, Vineyard at Stockcross, Newbury, Berkshire

• 2007 Michael Gray, Hyatt Regency London, the Churchill
• 2006 Richard Ball, Calcot Manor, Tetbury, Gloucestershire
• 2005 John Stauss, Four Seasons, London
• 2004 Patrick Elsmie, Gleneagles, Auchterarder
• 2003 Robin Hutson, then at Hotel du Vin
• 2002 Gordon Campbell Gray, One Aldwych, London
• 2001 Karen Earp, then at the Four Seasons Canary Wharf, London
• 2000 Peter Crome, then at Chewton Glen, New Milton, Hampshire
• 1999 Nick Ryan, the Crinan, Argyll
• 1998 Nicholas Rettie, then at the Metropolitan, London
• 1997 Peter Lederer, Gleneagles, Auchterarder
• 1996 Chris Rouse, then at Turnberry, Ayrshire
• 1995 Ricci Obertelli, the Dorchester, London
• 1994 David Levin, the Capital, London
• 1993 Ken McCulloch, then at One Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow
• 1992 Dagmar Woodward, then at the Mayfair InterContinental, London
• 1991 Martin Skan, then at Chewton Glen, New Milton, Hampshire
• 1990 George Goring, Goring hotel, London
• 1989 Grete Hobbs, then at Inverlochy Castle, Fort William, Inverness-shire
• 1988 Ronald Jones, then at Claridge's, London
• 1987 Eion Dillon, then at the Copthorne Tara, London
• 1986 Harry Murray, then at the Imperial, Torquay, Devon
• 1985 Terry Holmes, then at the Stafford, London
• 1984 Ramón Pajares, then at the Four Seasons, London
• 1983 Richard Edwards, then at the Chester Grosvenor, Chester



sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo
sponsor logo